The Holidays Are Out Of Control

Last week when I read Kristin Howerton’s Can We Bring The Holidays Down A Notch? I laughed and cried.  I laughed because I didn’t have multiple school age children complaining to me about St. Patrick Day celebrations, but I cried because I know it’s coming.  As it is, I’ve already struggled with how to bring them down after insane birthday celebrations and the holiday festivities are creeping in right behind them as sugar-fueled, expectation-riddled greed-fests.

Sure, it starts with the real holidays like Easter.  But do we really need a mandated Easter Party at preschool (yes, my husband had to leave work for this one)? Especially annoying was the fact that it was held six days before Easter day, despite the fact that I was willing to bring my kid in during Spring Break so they could have a more appropriately timed party.  No takers on that one.  This meant my kids expected us to do up Holy Week in style.  They seemed less than enthralled with pizza on Friday (again) and dying brown eggs on Saturday (oops).  Next thing I know I’ll be crafting leprechaun traps for St.Patty’s, sewing patriotic pants for Flag Day, and baking elaborate cake pops for Sweetest Day.  Or at least someone might expect me to do those insane things.  I’m exhausted just making fun of it.

Easter Monday proved to be the best day of the Holy Week for me (and let’s be honest, it’s all about me) because I participated in a Huffington Post Live segment debating the need to bring all our children’s celebrations down a notch.  One particularly crafty mom put my best delusional fueled handiwork to shame.  I could see why she loves celebrating every holiday to the nines.  Another mom talked about the guilt of working moms presenting store-bought confections next to a Martha Stewart-esque pie.  I mostly talked about how lazy I am.  Oh, and how I feel pressure to be crafty when I’m just not.

“With all that time on your hands, that’s the best you could do?”

The other moms might not be saying that, but it’s what I hear.  But all of us agreed that instilling gratitude in our children is just as important as making memories around important holidays.  It was an especially fun discussion with some really great moms.

If the player above doesn’t work, here’s the link:

Sorry, There’s No Candy For That

Bonus: a little behind the scenes shot of my in-home studio.  It takes a lot of work to look this human.

All smoke and mirrors, and I barely look alive, right?

All smoke and mirrors and MacGyver set-ups.

 

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in Bad mom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your brilliance

