Crunchy Mom Prevails

Remember how happy I was that my son was SO not a spoiled little brat around Christmas time?  Two months later, he apparently outgrew that wide-eyed wonder as evidenced by an event I’ll call “birthday party-gate 2013.”  He opened all of his gifts in 7.2 seconds, he rudely discarded the ones he wasn’t excited about, and that night before bed he said he didn’t have any fun and wanted more presents.

What have I done? I cried.

And more important, what can I do about it?

The next day I decided it was time to work on a little bit of gratitude.  To help instill a feeling of happiness and appreciation every day, I made up this little meditation practice.  Some people might be intimidated by meditation for children.  Actually, most people are intimidated by meditation for adults.  This is so simple and easy you won’t even think about using the M word.

Even with that disclaimer, I have to admit I wasn’t sure they were going to get it – especially not the 2-year-old – but I was determined to introduce this routine as a way to think about and name what we are grateful for in our lives.

I wrote this post for Moonfrye detailing our journey into gratitude a few weeks ago.  Since then we’ve had our good days (where they are totally engaged and involved in every step) and our bad days (where getting them to say a single word is a chore).

Most days one or more of the items they are thankful for include:

-lollipops

-chocolate

-chocolate chips

-chocolate chip pancakes

-cupcakes

-ice cream

I don’t worry about what they are grateful for, just as long as they know what gratitude is and it conjures up a true sense of happiness for them.  That is the feeling I am looking to connect them to, and that is the goal of this little practice.

From beginning to end this ritual takes us two or three minutes and it is, without a doubt, the highlight of my day every single morning.

Read more about what our practice looks like here:

The Gift

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in Super mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crunchy Mom Prevails

  1. The Yogic Housewife says:

    I know how you feel. There was a lot of ” I don’t like this ! And tears at Christmas and of course more. I was mortofied. But they are around the same age, mine is four in June. The gratitude practice is great, I like that you had them closing their eyes and chanting well done! we say what we did today at the end of each day, what we liked best and what we were grateful. for.

    Sent from my iPhone

Share your brilliance

