I Love Daytime TV (especially when I’m on it)

During my twenties while I probably should have been in the library, I was parked in front of the TV soaking up daytime programming.  My best friend and I obsessed over the plot lines of General Hospital. I longed to co-host The View from the day the show premiered.  But it wasn’t until I stayed home with my first baby that my true love affair started.  Trapped on my couch nursing my colic baby every hour, I envisioned my own Oprah/Ellen/fun/spiritual mash-up where we danced in the aisles before greeting Eckhart Tolle.  So I don’t have a show of my own and I’m not even being interviewed for my expertise on anything, but I have made appearances (both speaking!) on daytime television.  Twice.

When I was in law school (read: had LOTS of free time on my hands) I went to see a taping of The View.  While I was there, a producer plucked me and my wavy hair out of the audience to come back and do a segment for “fun sleepover hair-dos.”  The hosts and the guests all dressed in pajamas.  A limo (ok, it was a car service sedan) picked me up at my apartment.  I had my own dressing room and hair & make-up done.  I met all the co-hosts (it was the Lisa Ling era) including Barbara Walters.  They were taping two shows that day so I also met Garth Brooks and Gena Davis.   It was incredibly freaking cool.

So when a friend hooked me up with a producer at The Katie Show for another appearance like that, I was psyched.  Not only am I a total Katie fan from way back, but I also fit the criteria they were looking for: a NYC mom of a child aged 3-5.  I volunteered my heart out.  When I arrived via a special guest entrance, the producer instructed me to ask a general “mommy myth” type question.  Then she ushered me to hair and make-up where those two amazing women summoned nothing short of a miracle to transform my frizzy triangle-shaped mane (it was unseasonably warm and humid that day) into a sleek bob.

Then I got to my seat and I was blown away.  Katie is simply stunning, up close and in person.  The audience is small and intimate so every member feels like a part of the show.  It wasn’t only the set-up though.  Katie engaged us the whole time, asking questions, chit-chatting, and riffing with the crowd constantly.  This audience was in for an unusually long haul (almost 5 hours!) but she kept asking if we had enough to eat and how we were all feeling.  Every single member of the crew matched her charming tone  – from the comedian who entertained us, to the cameramen, to the sound woman, and every producer.  It was a first-rate operation.**

Now that I have blown this totally out of proportion and you are expecting to see an hour-long interview where Katie and I find an instant connection right before your eyes, I’m including my one minute silly little clip. But I’m warning you, I am a huge dork and I’m not apologizing for my sheer geek-ness over appearing on national TV.  I have zero ability to play it cool and you’ll see that in hi-def.  I warned you.

If the player above does not work, click the link here.

**I was NOT compensated for this appearance or this blog post.  The Pollyanna enthusiasm is all mine.

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Love Daytime TV (especially when I’m on it)

  1. muddledmom says:

    I love the Katie show too. I’m not sure I could sit through five hours of taping though! Nicely done!

Share your brilliance

