I’m A Writing Schizophrenic

You wouldn’t know it by reading my blog, but I have multiple personalities.  My blogging, whether for Moonfrye or Mommyish or those places in between, all revolves around motherhood.  I share the highs, the lows, the small victories and the insecurities.  Taken all  together it really displays the whole picture of me as a mother.

My fiction writing is a whole different ballgame.  On one hand, I’m chic lit.  I imagine myself writing a story about modern life and the challenges we face in finding love and family and success.  The protagonist is a smart urban woman in the vein of books written by fellow former lawyers Emily Giffin or Aidan Donnelley Rawley.  Not only do I read those stories, I’ve lived them.  Between my failed relationships, my career achievements and flubs, and my rampant insecurities hidden behind my brash partying ways, I have enough material to write ten books.

On the other hand, I have spent hundreds of hours and written thousands of words on paranormal young adult stories.  As Mrs. Taylor, my HS Freshman English teacher, could attest, I have been obsessed with magic and demons and darkness since I was a teen.  They didn’t have the plethora of options in the YA department back then so I devoured Dean Koontz novels like my soul depended on it.  I stopped reading those books more than a decade ago, but now that I am writing more seriously, I once again find myself drawn to young girls navigating unusual and complicated worlds.

I hate to make yet another parallel between me and Jennifer Garner (that’s not true, I relish the opportunity no matter how far-fetched) but am I the real life 13 Going On 30?  Like I went to bed a 13-year-old and woke up the next day in a world where I was supposed to be an adult, the stories I tell are trapped between two very different worlds these ages represent.  How do I reconcile this?  Do I have to choose one or the other?

Do you have this problem?  When you aren’t writing about being a parent, what kinds of stories are you compelled to tell?  If you aren’t a writer, do you have interests that appear out of whack (like squash and bingo, or rifle-shooting and kitty collecting)?  Or am I the only one???

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m A Writing Schizophrenic

  1. SaphireAngel says:

    I totally relate to this, I compartmentalize my personality because I feel different ages in different situations, I think It has alot to do with what your experiences in life are.
    I always say what you go through makes you who you are!
    I def have a childish side- maybe it’s my way of dealing with the world!
    Maybe it’s how I express my vulnerable side.
    In my head it all fits together perfectly like a jigsaw- I know why I am the way I am, and I am at total peace with it.
    I have a vivid imagination, I am a people watcher I am lucky that I can experience alot of things through my imagination and I think it makes me a better writer.
    Wether it be a childrens story or a fictional random subject.
    I have written about my paranormal and spiritual experiences but I would love to write about other peoples experiences and maybe something like Telekenises. If you had to have a power what would it be? I think I’d like to have the power of invisibility.

  2. SaphireAngel says:

    It sounds like you have lived many lives in one! One incident I will use as a good example for me not feeling ‘grown up’ is in my last job- to the public I looked like a smart well put together young lady in a suit- yet if any one tried to shake my hand I’d have to stifle a giggle- it just felt too grown up’ 😀

Share your brilliance

