Naming The Baby: Finding The Balance Between Out Of The Box And Out Of Your Mind

I could talk about baby names and naming babies for days. That’s why I was thrilled to be a part of a recent Huffington Post Live piece entitled “What Happened To Mary?”  The segment debated whether the movement away from common or traditional names is a positive trend.  I said “go for it!”

I grew up with an uncommon name. Unlike one of the other panelists, I loved that. Assuming the person knew my name wasn’t Karen, I felt my rare moniker set me apart from the pack. Although let’s be honest, most people, on paper, assumed my name was Karen. This common mix-up gave me the opportunity to correct every one of my teachers from grade school through law school. Such a good student and a natural born rule follower, this secret rebellion gave me great joy and I looked forward to it at the beginning of each school year.

Of course the segment highlighted the more extreme examples of the “unique” trend, like the 8lb baby girl named Hashtag or the upward movement of Katniss and Siri, borrowed right from our favorite disposable pieces of popular culture and technology.  Trendy might be the worst trend in baby names ever.  The name you give your baby stays with them for a lifetime (unless you are Carmen Eleckra who was born Tara Leigh Patrick and OMFG is she really dating Simon Cowell?  WTH?  Please provide your theories on that dynamic below).  Plus, you are making it really hard for your child to ever lie about their age since their birth year will be baked into the trend of the moment.

If you stick with a name that has meaning to you, I don’t think you can go wrong.  Whether it is common, rare, or completely weird – everyone loves to hear a great story on how you decided on that precious baby name.  I know I could listen to every last detail on the back and forth process and never get sick of the tales.

What Happened To Mary? (Huffington Post Live segment)

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in obsessed with baby names and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your brilliance

