Good Point, But Go Suck It: The Jet Lag Edition

I was so scarred from my first edition of I’m Right, You’re Wrong that it instantly became my last edition.  But what’s a girl to do when she has a disagreement on her hands and no where to vet the validity of each side in an argument?

Answer: rename the game and cue the first edition of “good point, but go suck it.”  In an effort to be nice I’m going to say that each side has a good point.  However, one perspective is clearly better and thus the other side gets the *wanh-wah* parting prize chant: “good point, but go suck it!”

Without further ado, let me set the scene.  Two days after we arrive home from a week in California, little Chloe has her 21-month check-up at 9am.  Since I love my doctor and fear the Upper East Side medical establishment (that’s another story), we never changed pediatricians after moving.  This means we will have to leave the house no later than 8:10 to get to the appointment on time.  Given that both my kids have slept until 10am (7am PT) each day since we have been back, this causes me great anxiety.  I need to pack breakfast, snacks, milk and juice.  Outfits are picked out the night before, but the kids still need to go to the bathroom/diaper change and get dressed.  And for the love of all things holy, I will NOT forget that stinking yellow medical card…again.

Ian, my wonderfully supportive husband, senses my anxiety and offers to help get us out the door early.  The next morning, true to his word, he gets out of bed first and tends to the kids, getting to work in the kitchen while I get ready.  As I wipe my mouth of freshly brushed teeth I think how lucky I am that I will walk out of the bathroom and everything will be ready to walk out the door (or close to it).

When I come out, however, the kids are in pajamas watching TV while Ian unloads the dishwasher.  The clock reads 8:03am.

Side 1: “I changed Chloe’s diaper and offered them milk, which they rejected and thus means they don’t want it.   It didn’t occur to me to put together the food because you usually do that.  Finding other ways to be useful, I unloaded the dishwasher.”

Side 2: “The dishes?  ARE YOU F@^&%KING KIDDING ME?!?!?!?!”

So you decide:  who has a tiny, trivial, theoretically good point but should really go suck it and who is the person entitled to be yelling like a raging lunatic?

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Point, But Go Suck It: The Jet Lag Edition

  1. Hmmm…I don’t want to insult your hubby. I’m sure he’s a very nice person. Have to side with you on this one. Men are just…(sigh, with head shaking).

  2. Kara d. says:

    You know the old adage of “if you want something done right, do it yourself” yup, I think that one applies here. It’s either that or step by step nagging instructions yelled from the bathroom while you are trying to frantically brush your teeth and pee at the same time while not spraying toothpaste all over your clothes.

Share your brilliance

