Bad mommy is a theme in my life, even after a fun and exciting day

This weekend our family made the best of what would turn out to be the one and only fall day this year by visiting a pumpkin patch.  Gavin jumped from bales of hay while our little C gathered mini-pumpkins in her basket like they were Manolos in Carrie Bradshaw’s closet.

I’ll take this one. And this one. And this one. Oh, and this one…

I devoured an apple cider donut in two bites before anyone could see me and demand that I share.  I barely had time to appreciate its absolute deliciousness, but I know it was out-of-this world.   Sadly, I was brought back to Earth by Gavin’s insistent mommy-mommy-mommy-mommy.  Since they are studying “The Farm” in nursery school, he wanted to bring something back for his class.  I said ok to a few gourds.  When I came back from wrangling Chloe away from the hot popcorn machine, Ian had said yes to 12 gourds, 5 Jack-B-Littles, 4 Indian corn cobs, 3 mini-cheese pumpkins, and a 2lb bag of golden delicious apples.

Proud of his finds

And that’s how a free family fun trip cost us $26 dollars for things that will surely rot in my cupboard, completely unnoticed until their stench takes over sometime in December and Gavin is devastated I never gave them to him to bring to school.  It all comes back to the bad mommy, doesn’t it?

________________________________________________________________

What else I’ve been writing about lately:

On Mommyish:

Science sheds a whole new light on the idea of baby brain.  Son’s DNA was found in mother’s brain.

These schools may have been within their rights, but the way they handled these controversial shirts was unacceptable.  I Enjoy Vagina and Mitt Romney.

Do men struggle with work-life balance or do they just “do it all?”

Jennifer Lopez family show being called a sin by One Million Moms, but I just think it’s gonna suck.

On Skinny Mom:

Six helpful household cleaning tips for busy moms.

Yoga poses that promote healthy fertility (and why they work).

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in am I doing this right?, Bad mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bad mommy is a theme in my life, even after a fun and exciting day

  1. I nearly ruined our pumpkin picking weekend by insisting we take a picture first and then let my son jump around on the play things at the farm. But at least I got a picture to preserve the memories of my grouchy kids!

    • Carinn @welcometothemotherhood says:

      How dare you! Picture first? Before fun? The horrors. Don’t worry, they will be so happy you have those pictures in 10 years.

  2. sagescenery says:

    You’ve made me homesick for the Fall season in NJ…the vibrant colors, going pumpkin and apple picking, eating cinnamon sugar doughnuts, going on hay rides, and drinking apple cider! I love FL and the beach, but nothing compares to the cool, crisp air in a place that really celebrates Fall days!!

Share your brilliance

