Did you guys know Toronto is in another country?*

Just an hour flight from NYC and you can wind up in Canada.  How amazing is that?

Ian was in Toronto for the film festival (TIFF) last week and I was in a funk.  There have been lots of changes in our household and for the first time in my life my anxiety left me completely numb.  So Ian came to the rescue: a last-minute cheap flight for me to join him.  It was the perfect fix.

Or at least it seemed to be.

Until I forgot that Toronto was a foreign country* and my phone didn’t have an international plan.  After a few painful conversations with Verizon, I gave up on trying to fix it.  I opted instead, to go without a phone.  It didn’t seem so bad until I realized everything that went with my smartphone; email, text, WordPress, Facebook, Google, pretty much everything I need to live short of oxygen.

Lecture me all day about the beauty and simplicity of being able to “unplug” but I’ll tell you complete withdrawal for 3 days was not the recipe for happiness; all it did was increase my feeling of isolation and pushed me farther into a funk.

So I did something crazy.  You know how they say idle hands are the devil’s workshop?  Well, he was feeling arts and crafty with a bottle of Manic Panic hair dye on this day.

My new hue – purple haze

What do you think?  Am I having a mid-life crisis?  Or just a normal FU reaction to leaving the corporate world?

* I didn’t actually forget Canada was another country, I did in fact bring my US Passport.  It just sounds funnier this way.

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in am I doing this right?, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Did you guys know Toronto is in another country?*

  1. Actually I like that color and shoot here I am sitting in the process of a boring color. Darn it

  2. sagescenery says:

    I love it!!

    In July we went to a wedding and my jewelry was teal blue, so for the first time in my life I bought teal blue nail polish and had my nail girl do my toes the same color…I was so thrilled with my BOLDNESS! After years of pinks, mauves, oranges, or reds…

    My husband gagged, but my son was visibly awed by his mother’s brashness! Ha!

    Last month, I chose dark purple, so now I match your hair! Ha!!

  3. muddledmom says:

    Lovin’ it. I saw a post on how to do that with Kool-Aid. Isn’t that awesome? She just did the tips and it was super bright, you know, blue raspberry and all. I’ve been pretty tempted. I like how yours is subtle. Very nice.

  4. Love it!! No midlife crisis – you’re just explorer your new life! Enjoy it and have fun because we only live once! I have to know…how did the kids react?

    • I’m sad to say that my son was insanely disappointed. I think he pictured Katy Perry – bright purple. But no way I was going to bleach the whole thing before I dyed it (that’s the only way to get the vibrant color if you have dark hair). The good thing is Ian loves it!!

  5. Taryn says:

    Canada will make you do crazy things- imagine spending 27 years of your life there!

  6. Yes, Carinn, Toronto is in another country. I don’t blame you for getting confused. On CNN’s weather map they often include the weather for Toronto along with all the other US metropolises. NBA and MLB both have a team in Toronto and the Buffalo Bills play there once in a while. I can totally see how Americans could be confused as to where Toronto is.
    Ironically, every Torontonian at heart would be publicly appalled by that mistake, but secretly pleased by it also. It’s a Canadian thing. We don’t like to be confused for Americans, but we like it when Americans give even a passing thought about us. That attitude gets annoying, but that’s Canada for you.

    • Well I will never make that mistake again* – especially since I thought it was a totally great city!

      *just a reminder that I did actually know that but was hoping Verizon was a little more savvy and could set up some roaming service for a place that is an hour flight from NYC.

Share your brilliance

