It’s all about the people

Earlier this week I wrote about my inspirational takeaway from BlogHer’12.  With all that touchy-feely stuff out of the way, it’s time to dish the dirt.

1.  I met some amazing people.  The first face I saw when walking into the Hilton Grand Ballroom was Kim from Mama By The Bay.  Beautiful, friendly and smiling, she was a sight for sore eyes and a perfect way to start off the weekend.  Then I scored a personal invite to the suite of Outlaw Mama and Moments of Exhilaration, where I stayed until my family begged me to come home.  Maybe it’s our legal backgrounds (doubtful), our complicated relationships or just general awesomeness (that’s probably it), but these ladies instantly felt like friends I’ve had for decades.

Other highlights:  after talking to Michelle for five minutes, the recognition clicked and she exclaimed, “oh, you’re YOU!”; karaoke with Laurel — even though there was no actual karaoke, we thought the dance floor was a perfectly appropriate place to belt out our favorite songs; having the balls to walk up and have a conversation with each one of the delightful Mouthy Housewives (my humor heroes).

2.  I also met a lot of ‘lifestyle’ bloggers. Does anyone know: what the h*ll is a lifestyle blog?  It’s probably best I remain in the dark since I have no life and no style.

3.  There were a lot of people I didn’t have the opportunity to meet.  A conference of over 4,000 (mostly) women bloggers can be overwhelming and it’s hard to balance the panels, the speakers and social time.

The swag was underwhelming, the food starchy (I ate a bagel/roll for every meal) and the parties exhausting (or maybe it was the 18 hour conference days), but I’d do it all over again in a heartbeat.

Tired of my vituperation? (I had to look it up too)  I’m over at Skinny Mom handing out practical advice on how to get your kids to sleep (something with which I have a lot of heartache experience).  It’s the first of my weekly contributions as Taskmaster Mom.   Check me out every Wednesday!

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in Super mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s all about the people

  1. Yay! I had so much fun! Sleepover in our suite was the best 🙂

  2. Sounds like you had fun! I met Kim too. I think I scared the bejesus out of her! She was the first person I talked to and I am so awkward. Awkward. I wish we would have met up, but again that was my big mistake. I decided to go on such short notice that it left me with a fun story to tell, I guess?

  3. Don’t worry…not having a life or style actually is a style. I know all about it.

Share your brilliance

