Gymnastics 101

We’ve spent the better part of the week at my parent’s house and I tend to lose all concept of day and time here.  Out in the country, we run in the grass, we play in inflatable pools filled with ice-cold hose water, we dig in the dirt.  Aunts, uncles, grandparents, cousins, friends come and go.  There’s never anywhere we have to be.  It’s the way summer should be.

Most parents have signed their kids up for soccer game, wilderness camp, swim cap – or some variation of all of these.  Not me.

“Let’s just relax,” I tell the hyper children nipping at my heels.

My daughter, however, refuses to live the deprived life I’m offering her.  So she has taken liberties to start her own personal gymnastics camp.

 

Who needs fancy apparatus? I can do some gymnastics right here!
Approach the bar
Check grandma is on the phone and not looking
Hang and swing
Dismount. Perfect!

One way or another, we’re all enjoying our mini-vacation.  Soon enough we’ll be back to the oppressive NYC heat.  Soon enough.

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in am I doing this right? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gymnastics 101

Share your brilliance

