What kids want.

I recently caved and bought myself a pair of Tom’s shoes.

I even splurged for the Vegan pair, made from hemp with recycled plastic for the sole. Cool, right?

I had held out for a long time.  It just seemed to me that Toms shoes were something for kids.  Ok, not like my kids, but you know, young-ens, whippersnappers, ‘kids these days’ kids.  Read: not my demographic.

The more I heard about the founder and creator of the shoe and the work he does, the less I could resist.  It married something I perceive as ‘fresh’ with social responsibility.  That’s a win-win in my book.

However, there are some other products out there aimed at the ‘kids’ of which I will NOT partake.

Freshly cracked eggs in MOST areas? What is the Egg McMuffin made from in OTHER areas?
You know honey, the double strand of pearls really looks best with the black Genie Bra, not the nude. Single strand, definitely white. You hit that on the head. 

Remind me again why I’m wearing pearls with my bra?

The Street King by 50 Cent

Here’s an unlikely pairing if I’ve ever seen one. One energy shot for you, one meal for a hungry child.  And does the 50 Cent/the Street King really crave an orange mango dietary supplement?  I guess cheeseburger flavor failed market tests.

Jelly Belly. The Original Gourmet Jelly Bean.

The irony of a sugar-free jelly bean was what made me pick up the package.  I mean, if you take the sugar out of jelly beans, what else is there?  That weird gel crap?

But upon closer inspection, that wasn’t the most absurd part of this product:

I hope the people who develop, create and market this crap (no pun intended) don’t sleep at night.

Cause, you know, I prefer my jelly beans come without the need for a DISCLAIMER.  Especially one that reads: consumption may cause stomach discomfort AND/OR laxative effect.  Individual tolerance will vary.  We suggest starting with 8 beans or less.

Sorry kids, I’m NOT buying it.

About Carinn Jade

Mother, lawyer, yogi, writer, non-sleeper. Published @NYTMotherlode. Contributor @Mommyish @Moonfrye @HuffPostLive. I like beer (not wine) & tea (not coffee) & being a contrarian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What kids want.

  1. Taryn says:

    OMG, there’s a lot of weird crap out there, crap that’s even weirder than vegan shoes with recycled soles 🙂
    Hope you like your Toms. They make really cute kids shoes too.

  2. Leslie says:

    The good news is if you did happen upon an involuntary jelly bean laxitive-inducing moment, you’d be wearing comfortable shoes. 😉 I’ve been under a hole this month (just finished a 90-hour week – someone kill me – or pass the beer), but I’ve gotta check these shoes out!

    • Yes! Make your run to the bathroom easier in Toms!

      90 hour weeks – that is insane. Hope you’re coming up for some air. I tried to pass you a beer but somehow I ended up drinking it every time. Sorry!

  3. I’ve been digging on Toms lately, too. I might have to get myself a pair…

    Oh, and uh, I never realized sugar-free jelly beans could double as laxatives. Ew.

    • They come in all sorts of really cute colors and designs but they are a little too expensive for me to consider them a once in awhile shoe (since they aren’t fancy enough). I went for a pair I could wear with everything. They are awesome!

Share your brilliance

